Aging AwardArchitizer is happy to announce a partnership with the University of Pennsylvania for the New Aging Award 2010.

The New Aging Award 2010 is a search for progressive architectural designs (realized or conceptual) for the elderly. With a concern that banal architecture has become a barrier exacerbating physical limitations, social isolation, and dependency, the New Aging Award is looking for designs that break these trends and offers a design quality that enables the elderly to lead a life of dignity.

Any architectural project designed for, or including, a single person or a group of people who are 55 and older is eligible. The designs may range from a private house to an assisted living facility, nursing home, or continuing care retirement facility. Submissions may include the work of firms, architects, designers, students, and teams.

Submissions must be uploaded to The project profile must include the following:
– A 150-250 word text description of the project
– The lead design firm or project leader
– Team members must be credited
– Please submit as many images as necessary to fully explain the project (minimum 3 images).
– the tag “NA2010” must be added as a tag to the project profile

There is no fee to submit your projects.

The jury will be led by Bill Braham, the Interim Chair of the Department of Architecture at the University of Pennsylvania, and consist of Matthias Hollwich (Principal, HWKN), Winka Dubbeldam (Principal, Archi-Tectonics), and two additional jury members to be announced shortly.

The submission deadline is May 3, 2010 at 11:59pm EST. In May, 2010, the winners will be announced at an end-of-year exhibition at the University of Pennsylvania

The entries will be evaluated on architectural and social innovation. There will be two award categories, one for visionary and one for realized projects, and six honorable mentions. The winners will be published in the New Aging book to be launched in the Fall of 2010 and be announced at the New Aging Conference at the University of Pennsylvania on October 1st and 2nd, 2010. All winners and honorable mentions will get two free tickets to the conference.

For more information. To enter your project. Visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: